My Passion for Passion- Songwriting.

My individual passion drives my creativity and motivates most of my decisions.

Places inspire my passion, I fall in love with places and the stories or memories they hold.

I believe passion holds so much importance, it allows everyones personality to be expressed within something they care about- creative or not.

My main passion is music. I have always loved music, from a very young age. Like most people my music taste is often determined my current situations or my mood.

My passion for music recently transitioned into songwriting. When things in my life change, whether good or bad, I often write music to try and comprehend the change that has occurred. The lyrics are my favourite part of the process. I can take the lyrics wherever I like. I’ve written songs in different countries as my thoughts are always with me. It’s like an artistic diary of my thoughts that i can share with people. All I want, within my music, is for people to relate to my music and feel something for my music. I don’t mind if I don’t have a lot of listeners, all that is important is if only one person enjoys it and it means a lot to just one person, my work has been worth it.

My Songs:

‘Down to You’ was the first song I released. Although it wasn’t the first song I had written, it was the first one I deemed ‘good enough’ to release and share with people I know.

The song explores idilic and possibly naive perspectives on love. Sometimes things don’t work out and you can’t work them out either. Sometimes the strongest moments in your life will feel like your weakest, this is what the song means to me. It was written at a time in a previous relationship where I felt lost. Even though I had tried my hardest to make things work, we didn’t know what wasn’t working, just that there was something that didn’t feel right. The lyrics explore the idea of giving up and allowing the other person in the relationship to determine what happens next as I didn’t want the responsibility, hence ‘Down to You’.

My favourite part of the song is the second verse; ‘Time is turning and change is hurting, i’ll go, but i’m nothing without you. Became a burden, don’t want to hurt you but now, I think that it’s time to’.

This highlights my vulnerability at the time. I thought that without him, I was worthless. Although this demonstrates how much I loved him, it also shows a deep sense of despair within myself, that I truly pinned all my happiness on him, which isn’t healthy. I felt like I was the one who was dragging him down, but I could never be the one to end it as I would never forgive myself for not trying.

https://song.link/gb/i/1463993575

‘Sunset Sky’ is the second song I released. I started to write the song whilst in a previous relationship. The original aim of the song was for him, to try and encapsulate my love and appreciation for him in a song. The meaning of the song inevitably changed when the relationship ended, changing the perspective of the lyrics. Although the song lyrics didn’t change, they had changed to me. The song then took a turn when I added another verse at the end of the song that altered the concept of the song completely.

https://song.link/gb/i/1479866549

‘So stay by my side, I want you to be my Sunset Sky’. This is the main chorus, revealing my love for him, stating that he is my sunset, a metaphor for beauty, tranquility and happiness. The last chorus is then…

‘So stay by my side, but amber colours fade into the night, Sunset Sky.’ The meaning of the metaphor is changed so simply in this last chorus. No matter how beautiful a sunset can be, they all come to an end- whether you want it to or not.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started